Whiteside School District #115 Board of Education Special Meeting Thursday, August 6, 2020 Whiteside Middle School

Administrators: Mark Heuring, Monica Laurent (from home), Nathan Rakers

Visitors were able to attend via Facebook Live on the Whiteside School District #115 Facebook page.

1.0) Call to order & Pledge of Allegiance

Meeting was called to order by President Sean McKee at 7:05 pm followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

2.0) Roll Call of Members

Board Members present: Angela Dickerson, Matt Erkman, Sean McKee, Terri McKee, Christine Mitchell-Endsley, Jeff Tindall.

Board Members absent: Rod Euchner

3.0) Accept / Amend Agenda

Motion by Erkman, second by Dickerson to accept the agenda as presented. Ayes -6, Nays -0. Motion carried.

4.0) Public Comment

The public was able to send in comments via email for phone call until 4:00 pm August 6, 2020.

Mr. Heuring read an email from Jaclyn Peterson that was submitted via email.

5.0) Board Secretary Correspondence

There was no board secretary business.

6.0) New Business

6.1) Review – Return to Learn Plan

Mr. Heuring gave an overview of Whiteside School District's Return to Learn plan. He updated the Board on registration numbers, numbers of remote learners and numbers of in-person learners. Mr. Heuring outlined concerns regarding the number of in-person learners and outlined his recommendations for starting the FY 21 school year in a Hybrid model. Motion by Erkman, second by Tindall. Roll Call: Dickerson – yes, Erkman – yes, S McKee – yes, T McKee – yes, Mitchell-Endsley – yes, Tindall – yes. Motion Carried.

6.2) Option 2 Data Review

Reviewed the enrollment and return to learn data – no motion required.

6.3) Calendar Start Dates Review

Motion by Erkman, second by Tindall to accept the amended 20-21 calendar with Teachers Institute on August 24 and 25 with students starting on August 27. Roll Call: Dickerson – yes, Erkman – yes, S McKee – yes, T McKee – yes, Mitchell-Endsley – yes, Tindall – yes. Motion Carried.

7.0) Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 7:54 pm.		

Sean McKee, President	Karma Falkenbury, Secretary

Having no further business, motion by Erkman, second by Endsley to adjourn.